Community Outreach

Our Visitors


African Drylands Institute for Sustainability
College of Agriculture and Veterinary Science
University of Nairobi
P.O. Box 29053 00625
Nairobi , Kenya /
Tel: 254-020-2133086
Fax: 254-020-632121


Printer-friendly versionPDF version

The Centre for Sustainable Dryland Ecosystems and Societies (CSDES) has awarded 13 University of Nairobi (UoN) students with Research-for-Development fellowship awards in line with its commitment to support action research and capacity building in the dryland communities. The beneficiaries of the award are 10 PhD students namely: Peris Kariuki, Waiganjo Bibianne Wanja, Yazan Mohamed Ahmed, Patrick Mwanyumba Mwambi, Koech Oscar Kipchirchir, Muthiani Elizabeth, Dickson Kaelo, Mbau Judith Syombua, Morara Mary Kerubo, and Kibet Staline. The other 3 beneficiaries are Masters students: Awuor Frankline Otiende, Komu Henry Mwaka and Machogu Clara.

The awards were given to the students after successful presentation of their proposals to the Center Management Committee on 13thSeptember 2011, and subsequent approval by the Centre Advisory Board on 14thSeptember 2011. The students were funded based on the relevance of their research proposals to the furtherance of the Centre’s objectives and appropriateness in addressing dryland communities’ issues.

In order not to lose sight of the objective, each student will be expected to:

  1. Conduct a community learning service project during their fellowship,
  2. Lead a conference in the second year of their study on what they will have learnt by using a new approach to research that puts the development needs of the communities first in defining their research projects, and
  3. To complete a draft policy brief describing the results of their research as part of the Centre’s policy brief series.  

This is the first such activity of the Centre towards capacity building through research at Masters and PhD Level. The research work will be done in the following places; Laikipia, Mara, Taita-Taveta, Turkana, Garisa, Tana River/Isiolo, Kajiado, Kiboko, Mbeere and Loita. 4 students will work in Laikipia while the rest have 1 student each.

UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2018. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi